In reality, men outnumber women in bylines, as protagonists in stories, and as subject-matter experts by 4:1. Women are even less present in top editorial and non-editorial management positions, holding on average 20% of the top editorial or business management roles in news media around the globe.

We, as an industry, must commit to doing more to accelerate the necessary change. Inspired by the #EqualVoices Pledge spearheaded by Ringier in May 2022.

We call on you to sign this pledge:

To support gender equality, diversity and inclusion within our organisations, particularly within leadership positions.
Introduce measures in our organisation to drive equality and create safe, healthy and representative newsrooms.
To make women, as well as underrepresented or vulnerable groups, more visible in the media.”


The following media professionals support the Pledge and commit to making gender equality a reality:

Aml Magdy Journalist Sada El balad

Randi S. Øgrey Ceo MBL

Pål Nedregotten EVP Amedia

Irene Lanzaco Directora General Asociación de Medios de Información

Hans Väre Editor in Chief Sakala

Bérénice Lajouanie Managing Director Les Échos

Jukka Holmberg Ceo News Media Finland

Alia Ibrahim Co-founder, CEO Daraj

Anna Chovhan CEO

Paul Verwilt COO Mediahuis

Cristina Soares Executive Board Member Publico

Nafisat Ibrahim Reporter Globe fm

Abdoul karim Kone CEO Wendy&Co

Anna Koshman Program Director ANRI Media

Dana Suyyagh CEO Almamlakatv

Deirdre Veldon Deputy Editor The Irish Times

Qaanitah Hunter Political editor News24

Nancy Lane CEO Local Media Association

Jane Godia Director WAN-IFRA Women in News

Melanie Walker Executive Director, Media Development Wan-ifra

Angela Emuwa Chairman Punch Nigeria Limited

Lars Tallert Senior Advisor Fojo Linnaeus University

Muna Toosane Journalist Radio Hargeisa

Edyth Kambalame Bureau chief Nation Publications Ltd

Mariana Santos Founder and CEO Chicas Poderosas

Lucy Nambela Founder Isuwilo Foundation

Gorden Mwerenga Chief Technology Officer Zimbabwe Newspapers 1980

Hatred Mandungumana Head of Strategy, Distribution and Retail sales Alpha Media Holdings

Levy Tswatswa HR Manager AMH

Bakari S. Machumu CEO Mwananchi Communications Ltd., Tanzania

Barbara Kaija Editor in Chief New Vision Printing and Publishing Company Ltd

Wezi Nyirongo Head of News and Current Affairs Capital Fm Radio

Beatrice Bandawe Managing Editor The Guardian Limited ( Tanzania)

Susan Makore Director Advisory and Insights Women in News

Danis Dube Station Manager – ZiFM Stereo AB Communications

Tryphinah Dongwana Managing Director ATD Media t/s WeekendPost

Mac Donald Kadewa Head of Business and Organisational Development Nation Publications Ltd

Anthony Glencross MD NMG Uganda

Paul Ilado Group Head of Content Radio Africa Group

Ma Regin Reyes News Chief/SVP Integrated News ABS-CBN Corporation


Pamella Sittoni Executive Editor, Partnerships Nation Media Group

James Munyaneza Managing Director/Editor in Chief The New Times

Dickson Phiri Station manager Mphangwe community Radio Station

Orlando Lyomu Group CEO The Standard Group Plc

Faith Zaba Editor Zimbabwe Independent

Emeldah Libanga Managing Editor Zambia Daily Mail

Tamala Chirwa Director, People & Performance WAN IFRA WOMEN IN NEWS

Pius Katunzi Managing Editor The Observer

Ochieng Rapuro Editor in Chief Standard Group

Kenias Mafukidze Chief Executive Alpha Media Holdings

Grey Kazako Director Zodiak Broadcasting Station

Lewis Chikurunhe Divisional Director Jester Media Services

Mujo Selimovic President of the Board Oslobodjenje Sarajevo

Mohit Jain Board Member and Executive Director Bennett, Coleman and Co. Ltd

See the latest signatories who commit to making gender equality a reality

The post Join WAN-IFRA’s Equality Pledge appeared first on WAN-IFRA.