On December 1, 2021, seven media executives were elected to the WAN-IFRA Supervisory Board: Mohamed Alayyan (Publisher & Chairman United Jordan Press, Jordan), Benedict B. Assorow (Managing Editor Catholic Standard, Ghana), Andy Budiman (CEO KG Media, Indonesia), Bartosz Hojka (Group CEO Agora, Poland), Nicolás Pérez Lapentti (CDO El Universo and President AEDEP, Ecuador), Hans Väre (Editor in Chief Sakala in Estonia), and Andrey Vdovychenko (Managing Director Burda Media, Ukraine).

At the same meeting, Fernando de Yarza Lopez-Madrazo (Chairman Henneo, Spain) has been re-elected WAN-IFRA President for a two-year mandate, together with 28 other current Supervisory Board members including Executive Board members Stig Ørskov, WAN-IFRA Vice President (CEO JP/Politikens Hus, Denmark) and Paul Verwilt, WAN-IFRA Treasurer (COO Mediahuis, Belgium).

These elections are announced at a time when WAN-IFRA is rallied by a growing number of new members. Since January 2021, 50 corporate members representing more than 220 publications and online media brands, alongside 200 individual members, have joined the World Association of News Publishers

WAN-IFRA Supervisory Board members re-elected on 1st December 2021 include:

Eugene Abov, Vice President GIPP, Russian Federation
Alessandro Bompieri, Managing Director Rcs Mediagroup, Italy
Oleksandr Chovhan, President RIA Media, Ukraine
Hans Heinrich Coninx, Board Member Schweizer Medien, Switzerland
Phillip Crawley, Publisher and Chief Executive Officer The Globe and Mail, Canada | Executive Board member WAN-IFRA
Fernando de Yarza Lopez-Madrazo, President Henneo Media, Spain | President WAN-IFRA
Daniel Dessein, President La Gaceta, Argentina
Warren Fernandez, Editor-In-Chief SPH Media Ltd, Singapore | Chairman World Editors Forum
Alexej Fulmek, CEO and Chairman of the Board Petit Press AS, President Slovak Print and Digital Media Association, Slovakia
Sophie Gourmelen, General Manager Le Parisien, France
Gerald Grünberger, Managing Director VÖZ – Verband Österreichischer Zeitungen, Austria | Chairman Association Directors Committee WAN-IFRA
Vesa-Pekka Kangaskorpi, CEO and President Keskisuomalainen Oyj, Finland
Tibor Kovács, Director Ringier Axel Springer, Hungary
K N Shanth Kumar, Director The Printers (Mysore) Pvt. Ltd., India| Chair South Asia Committee WAN-IFRA
Valdo Lehari jr., Publisher and CEO Reutlinger General-Anzeiger Verlags-GmbH & Co. KG, Germany | Executive Board member WAN-IFRA
Pierre Louette, Chairman and CEO Groupe Les Echos – Le Parisien, France
José Manuel Lozano, Managing Director 20minutos, Spain
Markus Mair, Chairman of the Board Styria Media Group AG, Austria
Stig Ørskov, CEO JP/Politikens Hus, Denmark | Vice President WAN-IFRA
Miguel Otero Castillo, Presidente Editor C.A. Editora El Nacional, Venezuela
Sandy Prieto-Romualdez, President and CEO The Philippine Daily Inquirer, Philippines | Chair APAC Committee WAN-IFRA | Executive Board member WAN-IFRA
Stephen Rae, Publisher AML Intelligence, Ireland
Sinha Ratnatunga, Director/Editor-in-Chief, The Sunday Times Colombo / Wijeya Newspapers Ltd, Sri Lanka
Marcelo Rech, President ANJ (Associação Nacional de Jornais), Brazil | Executive Board member WAN-IFRA
Mujo Selimovic, Publisher Oslobodjenje, Bosnia and Herzegovina
George K. Shuang, Managing Director United Daily News, Taiwan
Libuse Smuclerova, CEO & Chairman of the Board of Directors Czech News Center a.s., Czech Republic
Cristina Soares, COO Público Comunicação Social SA, Portugal
Paul Verwilt, COO Mediahuis, Belgium | Treasurer WAN-IFRA

The full list of members of the  Supervisory Board which has 68 members coming from 46 countries can be found under the following link: WAN-IFRA Supervisory Board

The next General Assembly of Members will be held on 17 June 2022.

The post New Board Leaders Take Office at WAN-IFRA’s Annual Meeting appeared first on WAN-IFRA.